Years ago, before many of us started sailing, YRUSC promoted the PACIFIC OCEAN RACING CONFERENCE (PORC). It has now been resurrected as the YRU Ocean Racing Championship (YRU ORC) in the form of ten existing long-distance open-ocean races organized by YRUSC member clubs. The purpose of YRU ORC is to promote and develop competitive ocean racing.
Skippers are recognized for their overall performance in the best four-of-ten listed ocean races. Contestants are divided into three handicap classes and are awarded points based on their performance in their respective handicap classes. A perpetual trophy is awarded to the winning skipper of each handicap class. The class winner with the highest point total is awarded the BACCARAT Trophy, the class winner with the second highest point total is awarded the JACK FROST MEMORIAL Trophy and the class winner with the third highest point total is awarded the MARK SEGAL MEMORIAL Trophy. The trophies are usually presented to the winners during the opening day ceremonies of their yacht clubs.


To be eligible a skipper must finish a minimum of four of the designated YRU ORC races. If more are sailed, the best four will be scored. Ties will be broken by the number of miles sailed in the best four finishes, then comparative times in the same races.
NO EXTRA FEE OR ENTRY FORM IS REQUIRED BY YRUSC. Interested skippers must contact the organizing Yacht Club to enter the race.


#1 January 6 DRYC Malibu and Return
#2 January 27 SWYC Cabrillo Series II - Sugarloaf Rock
#3 February 10-11 LAYC Around Catalina
#4 May 11 DRYC Point Dume and Return
#5 May 25-26 CBYC/DPYC Around Catalina
#6 May 26 OYC/SWYC Oceanside to San Diego
#7 July 6 SlBYC/DPYC Seal Beach To Dana Point
#8 July 27-28 SBYC/KHYC Santa Barbara to King Harbor
#9 August 31 SYC/DWYC/DPYC Long Beach to Dana Point
#10 October 4-5 SWYC San Diego to Ensenada International Yacht Race
Jump to YRUSC Trophies Page

Copyright 2000-2024 YRUSC
January 4, 2024